Four Days Post Top Surgery

Surgery was on Thursday.  The following Monday I went in for a follow up appointment and they took my nipple stents off and checked my drains.  Everything was looking good.  Wednesday I go back and they will probably pull the drain tubes out.  Originally they had said they would pull the drains on Monday and take the nipple stents off on Friday but for whatever reason she changed her mind.  Taking the stents off was no big deal at all.  They are loosely stitched in place and she just snips the stitches and pulls them out.  I’m still so numb that I couldn’t feel a thing.  She let me look at them in a mirror but, honestly, they’re just black and bruised and don’t really look like nipples at this point.  They assure me that will change quickly.  The nurse took a swab and put a tiny amount of nitro glycerin cream on both of them and then covered each one with a waterproof Band-Aid so I can shower without getting them wet.  The nitro cream helps to open up the blood vessels and get good blood flow into the nipples so they heal well.  I hadn’t heard of anyone doing this so I thought it was important to mention here.  They told me the reason I don’t have any bandages on my incision is because they use glue over them, which will flake off over time.  Still they had me start using an antibiotic cream on the incision at this point.

Today I’m planning on taking my first shower and I’m really looking forward to it.  They told me I could shower the day after surgery but I didn’t feel comfortable doing it so Candace has been washing my hair in the kitchen sink and we’ve been doing “sponge baths”.  I’ve been experiencing a lot of itchiness on my chest and back so I’m really looking forward to letting the warm water massage those areas some.  It will also be nice to have the binder off for a little while.  I really dislike the tight binder I have to wear for two weeks.  I had a bit on an anxiety attack a couple of days ago because it felt like I couldn’t catch my breath.  It hasn’t been as bad as I had feared but it’s still really uncomfortable.  On top of that it makes my belly look huge!!  Well, my belly is kind of huge.  I’m hoping some of that is just water retention and maybe some left over gas from the surgery.

On another front, my sore throat has persisted and I actually think I might have a cold or something.  I’ve been feeling really crappy from it and don’t have much energy.  It could be allergies or a sinus infection.  Not sure.  I’m on anti-biotics, which I just took the last of this morning, so hopefully that is enough to keep it from getting worse.  If it does get worse I’ll have to find myself an urgent care doc.  Candace told me that she woke up with a sore throat this morning too.  She thinks it’s allergies.  Mostly I just don’t feel like doing much.  Laying around watching stupid shows and napping is about as much as I’m really interested in doing.  Still, I do go out with Candace and our dog to the dog park and hang out with them for a while.  I don’t think the lack of energy is as much due to the surgery as it is the cold, but it could be both.  I know my body is busy healing and that takes a lot of energy.  Either way, I’m enjoying not having to do much and just relaxing a lot.

4 thoughts on “Four Days Post Top Surgery

  1. You have come a long way already and are on the home stretch. Enjoy the pit stops and rest – life is waiting for you to get back on track with the new chassis – streamlined. A bit of a belly? Blame it on beer. Take care, Shawn.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My partner had top surgery last year, and the surprise was how exhausting the recovery was. She (this is her chosen pronoun) was recovering well, but so tired that she pretty much just rested and puttered about the house for a couple of weeks. The other comment she made over the first few months is that nobody told her how itchy recovery would be. Now, 13 months later, she is healed and sexy (belly and all:) Incidentally, she also had a sore throat for a week afterwards. Maybe being intubated for the surgery does that? Anyway, recover well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing your partners experiences with me. The itching seems to be better now and my energy is better too. Just taking it slow and letting myself heal. I’m really happy to hear that you like how your partners chest turned out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

