Ask Matt: The Problem With a ‘Women and Trans’ Night

Matt Kailey's Tranifesto

Question MarkA reader writes: “Early in the spring a friend of mine who facilitated a ‘Women and Transfolk’ night at a local community shop took a job out of town and asked if I would take over for her while she was gone. I volunteer there, so of course I said sure. Things were going really well until last night.

“A transgender man came in. He asked what the ‘Women and Transfolk’ night was. I answered that it was for women and people who identify as women. This is an answer I’ve heard given by other people at the shop. I guess I never thought about it.

“He asked something along the lines of where he fit in and I said, ‘You’re a woman.’ Honestly, I had no idea they were transgender. I see a lot of different people at the shop because it’s such a welcoming environment. I just thought…

View original post 1,654 more words

Leave a Reply

