Not Sure What to Think of This

Around the beginning of the year WordPress sent us all (I’m assuming) a little year in review page that we could share if we wanted to.  While looking it over I noticed it showed the sites that referred new viewers to my blog and one of those sites I had never seen before.  It’s called T-Central.  I clicked on the link to T-Central and low and behold the first paragraph of my latest blog post was sitting on their opening page.  It’s still there for some reason.  I’ve received some new followers from this site and I’m grateful for that.  I’ve also found some new blogs to follow thanks to T-Central.  The problem is that I felt a bit violated by them.  I’m relatively new to blogging and I know that what we put on the internet is not private and I write in order to connect to more people going through what I’m going through, to share experiences, etc.  What T-Central is doing is trying to find all of us bloggers who are writing about transgender issues and putting them all in one place so we’re easy to find.  That’s cool and, in fact, it’s an awesome idea.  But, for me, it feels a little intrusive and presumptuous to just lift my post out of my blog and stick it on theirs without at least notifying me they were doing it.  I’d like to have a say in whether it goes on their site.  In the end, I think I’m ok with it…still have some icky feelings about their tactics…since more people are seeing my stuff now.  I know that people often reblog other’s posts but I would hope that they notify the blogger that they’re doing that.  What do you all think?  Are you aware of this happening?  Does it bother you?  Is it cool or is it creepy?

15 thoughts on “Not Sure What to Think of This

  1. I’m not a copyright lawyer, and it has been a long time since I was in graduate school and writing a paper, but I believe that it is OK to quote up to something like 250 words of a copyrighted source without permission, as long as you accurately credit the source, which they did (and linked to your blog).

    http://www.iuniverse.com/ExpertAdvice/PublishingLaw/FAQ.aspx

    However, I think it is pretty cool that they selected that piece of yours to profile because it was an interesting and complex subject. Blogging is a strange hobby – it is disappointing when “no one reads” a piece, and freaky when it gets whirled all over the internet (I’ve had two pieces “freshly pressed” on WordPress and it was overwhelming and flattering at the same time) – and hard to get it just right. I’ve always assumed I’m writing for a very small niche of people like me, but I’ve got some readers who are neither butch, trans, or queer. On WordPress I troll the Reader for the tags for transgender, ftm, butch, and genderqueer and tag my work with those categories so that other people can find them. T-Central is doing that on a much larger process – which is OK with me – I’m putting it out there,

    I get your sense of violation because you didn’t know it was happening, but I don’t think anyone is getting to T-central who isn’t looking for stuff like we write. I’m a little more creeped out when people who Google the term “transgender lederhosen” end up on my blog (due to a piece I wrote on The Sound of Music and my crush on Julie Andrews).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, my blog is in no way copyrighted and I didn’t even think about it from a legal standpoint. I appreciate your perspective on that though. It’s funny because I was really flattered to see that post up there but at the same time I got a weird feeling about it. I’ve never had the honor of being freshly pressed on here but I can imagine what a wild ride that would be. I guess the bottom line is that once we put something out there it sort of takes on a life of its own and I do think T-Central is trying to help us all out. I think the “transgender lederhosen” connection is pretty funny. Thanks for your thoughtful comment.

      Like

  2. I found you through T-Central and for that I’m grateful. 🙂

    I agree with all of Jamie’s comment above. Most bloggers have options below each post to share via email or social media channels. So we are already inviting readers to spread our writing without our knowledge. I think highlighting your work on a blog is just another method for sharing, so it doesn’t bother me at all. I was surprised and honored when they featured my posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Joyful Girl. Yes, I know you’re one of my new followers thanks to that link and I’m very happy to have some new followers because of it. I don’t want to seem ungrateful because I really am and also flattered. I think I’ve just been in this little WordPress bubble for so long that I was a little shocked to see my words on another site. But, like you and Jamey said we do invite people to share our posts and, in the end, it’s a good thing. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

      • I can understand the bubble. I was just telling someone that I’m in this safe happy spot with blogging; I have a tiny following that keeps me motivated to write, but I don’t have to worry about trolls. The idea of my writing getting spread widely is more terrifying than exciting.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. That is…. really strange. I did a search for my own blog on there and while there’s no link, my blog’s name and by-line comes up in the search results… I think the concept of the site is really cool, but it’s really disconcerting that we get no heads up about it.

    Like

  4. I left you a note right after I featured your blog. That was the time to say, “take it down”.

    Calie

    Like

  5. I take that back….. I did not leave you a note and apologize for that. I always try to leave a comment or private email when I’m going to feature a post. Halle does same. Sorry again.

    Calie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Callie, thanks for letting me know about this. I am happy to be on your website and honored to be featured. I’m glad to hear that normally you notify bloggers when you feature their posts.

      Like

  6. Wow, that’s kind of weird.

    Hmmm…. I’m not on there but I think I’d be okay with being on the list, however I think a heads up would definitely be nice. Someone actually did message me a bit ago and said they found my blog through another site but I didn’t really think much of it. I wonder if it was another collection of blogs like this? Hmm.

    Again, it would nice to be asked. That said I’d be very happy if my blog was able to help anyone even a tiny bit, so I guess spreading it around is okay with me if it gets it to people who want to read it. It’s just a little jarring to know it could happen with no warning.

    Like

    • That’s interesting. I wonder what the other site was that contacted you. Callie from T-Central did comment above that it is their normal practice to notify a blogger before sharing their posts. I agree completely about helping others. That’s why
      I’m here as well as to help myself. Share away as long as it’s positive and respectful.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. A while back ago, I was notified by another blogger about the site because she was surprised to find her own blog was on there (through new referrers. She was confused!), and so I then went to check it out. I didn’t think to search the blog for my own – I instead commented that I’d love to be featured. I got a message back from the admins / curators that I already am! I imagine it’s a lot of work to curate a site like that and follow up with all the bloggers – maybe they could use more volunteer help so everyone is on the same page. Maybe I will comment to them about it…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

